Deleting Virtual Networks
Deleting a virtual network is simple. However, to prevent unintended consequences, every virtual machine associated with the target network must be stopped and deleted before the network can be removed. This prevents the possibility of deleting a network that is being actively used which could cause virtual machines associated with it to cease functioning.
The first step is to navigate from your browser to the network you wish to remove.
In the illustration above, you can see that the target network's state is "Implemented". That means there are virtual machines assigned. On the far right, the only editing option available is the pencil icon. The only thing you can change is the name of the virtual network.
From here, click on the network by name or address to drill down. You will see a new screen like below:
Click on "Virtual Machines". This will bring up a browser displaying any and all instances assigned to this network.
The state could be either "Running" or "Stopped". In either case, the instances need to be deleted first before the network can be removed. Do do this, click the on the far right. The deletion process might take a minute or so. You will need to repeat this for each instance.
When no virtual machines remain, your browser should look as follows:
Once the last virtual machine terminates, Stratosphere will proceed to clean up and remove the remaining pieces associated with the network. Once all of those bits and pieces have been purged (port forwarding rules, load balancing rules, public IP address, VPN, etc.), you should eventually see something like the following when you return to your virtual network browser:
Once the network is in an "Allocated" state, clicking the button on the far right of your browser will remove the network and release the assigned address.
Note: As indicated above, the background processes to clean up a virtual network may take some time.