If I destroy a volume, can it be restored or recovered?

Unfortunately, when a volume is destroyed, it gets purged permanently from the system.  There are no copies retained.  If, however, you have made a snapshot of that volume, a new volume can be created from that snapshot.  That new volume will be as current as when the snapshot was created.

Best practice is to create snapshots of your important data volumes frequently and retain a series of snapshots in perpetuity for recovery and historical reasons.

Click here for more information about creating snapshots